Posts by Spixe

Thanks a ton for that info serafina. That's pretty much what I was thinking would happen to be, end up arriving with a bag of name brand goods that no one wants that I'd end up having to sell for pennies on the dollar. Since I have no actual experience of what people want, I think it's safer not to take the chance of doing that, especially if chances are that if I do attract buyers, they'll most likely be thugs and the wrong kinds of crowds, ha. Thanks yet again for the advice!

Thanks for all the advice and the warm welcome. Kind of scary sounding in a way, the level of quality (poor condition), prices (unusually high), and fake dollars (and didn't even know checks were still being used). We'll be extra vigilant if we decide to buy used then.

I've been reading the forums here to learn as much as I could and I learned a bit about trying to contact Mercadolibre sellers outside the portal (I think that was in one of your posts Splinter). Thank you for the FB group names too serafina, I'm sure that'll be very useful. We don't speak Spanish yet (A1 level self study only), but that'll be our first 2 semesters (intensive and normal) at UNC so hopefully by the end of the year we will be better able to handle the local market places.

We are going to bring about 8 suitcases with us to Argentina actually (paying for the excess bags), mostly clothes and some household things and small gadgets we can't live without (or don't want to rebuy there, I did some comparison shopping on ML and found it'd be cheaper to bring than to rebuy them). But maybe we can bring another full of items just to resell and help offset the cost of all the excess baggage fees.